Time Flies for Everyone Else

13 Mar

I ran into a bunch of friends and aquaintances today who were all happy to see Peg Leg doning not one, but two shoes.  So nice of them to inquire about the condition of my foot, my psyche, my running.  Funny how many commented how quickly my Peg Leg period flew by.   This is true, but ironic for the said Peg Leg.  It is reminiscent of a pregnancy that is unending for the woman growing the child, enduring the morning sickness (or in my case all day sickness), the weight gain, the aches, the pains, the ugly clothes, but so quick and painless for the acquaintances and surrounding circle.  They marvel, “Wow, I can’t believe you already had the baby,”  while inside you cringe and think, “Stupid idiot.  It was the longest 10 months of my life!”

OK, I’m exaggerating.  My Peg Leg was not nearly as tortuous as my pregnancies, but it did not seem quick.  It often felt unending and in reality, I am not yet myself.  I am thrilled to be up and about, but I have a few weeks or months to go before I am in full running rampage mode.  It’s funny, though, to think of all the events or traumas of our friends and acquaintances that fly by for us, the bystanders whose lives continue on at the regular pace.  Are those of us who are not amidst a life changing or life interrupting event missing something?  I kind of wonder.  I don’t wish setbacks on anyone because even in the best scenario, they are a pain the neck.  However, I wonder if that is the only way to slow us down nowadays…at least in OC.  When Sirskatesalot spends part of the winter spreading aloha on the islands, he comes home and swears he is going to hang onto that slower pace, that appreciation for what is at hand longer than he did the previous year.  It’s tough to do around here.  But setbacks force you to slow down, travel to the islands does the same.  If I have to pick one, I pick the latter, but maybe it’s just a mindset.

One Response to “Time Flies for Everyone Else”

  1. Dawn Deshefy March 13, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    OMG, I just spent half an hour responding to your post. Then I changed pages to figure out how to spell check it and lost the comment before I could post it! Next time I will draft it in word and copy it over! Going back to bed.

    Miss ya,

    Dawn

Leave a Reply

BakingMeHungry

The adventures of two sisters + food enthusiasts as they bake, cook, and eat anything, anywhere.

This Running Mom's Life

Just a mom who loves to run, (learning) to practice yoga, maintain weight loss and parent. All One Mile at a Time.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

runmommarunnews.wordpress.com/

Celebrate and Support Women Who Run!

Mileage Mama

Musings on running, travel, and motherhood ...

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Haute Running Mama

Pray.Love.Laugh.Run.

lexbake

a love of baking

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

howtostayfitwhenyoufeellikeshit

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

