Maiden Voyage

27 Feb

Although the doc said Peg Leg could “lightly jog” as of last Saturday, I have been too nervous.  Nervous it will hurt, nervous I will be too out of shape to enjoy it, nervous I will hurt something else, nervous I won’t understand what “lightly jogging” is once I get outside, nervous running might not seem like the same joyous therapy it has been for two decades.  Instead, I have been hiding in the gym.  The cardio has been great, I have been reading a ton and it has felt wonderful.  But, the gym is not like the trails with the fresh air, dirt beneath my feet and solitude to clear my head.

Today was gorgeous.  The blue skies, warm sunshine and light breeze.  I keep telling myself I am going to have to try this light jog at some point, but I have not felt like it at all.  But after carpool, errands, putting groceries away and planning dinner, I had that urge to get outside and enjoy the last bit of sunshine.  I slipped into my running shorts and headed out.  I was so nervous at first.  Eeek, what if something goes wrong?  Where is that screw and what is it doing?  But, I felt OK.  Not spry, speedy or in race shape, but good.  I felt solid.  I ran for 30 minutes slowly.  The toe that had been excrutiatingly painful for the past two and half years did not hurt!

I cried when I got to the trails.  Embarrassing, but understandable.  When asked what I am grateful for (besides my family and friends) I always immediately answer, “I am grateful I can run.”  I truly feel that way.  I know there are many who can’t and for a little while I couldn’t.  For me, running serves many purposes in my life.  Running makes me feel clean, clear, accomplished, sane and it makes the problems in my life, and the problems of the world seem a little bit more manageable.  Everyone needs something like this.  I hope you know what yours is and you nurture it.

5 Responses to “Maiden Voyage”

  1. dawndeshefy@gmail.com February 27, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

    Way to go Jenn! Proud of you for getting out in the trail. It takes courage!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • bossybostwick February 28, 2013 at 1:43 am #

      Thanks, Dawn. We’ll hit ’em together soon…especially the 5 minute uphill grinder you love so much.

  2. NTP February 27, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    I am so happy for you! What a beautiful day it was to get outside and run. How awesome to not have the excruciating pain in your toe any more. You must have a very talented doctor, I know that as hard as it was for you, that you were a very good patient (most of the time). So glad you are reclaiming your passion and what you were meant to do, that you can have that part of your being back. Of course you know I couldn’t run to save my life but if anything happened to my hands where I couldn’t cook or bake, I would be devastated. It’s good to not take these things for granted. I know you don’t; upon reaching the trail, you had tears in your eyes to prove it!

    • bossybostwick February 28, 2013 at 1:47 am #

      I know you get it, NTP. I’m glad you have that “something”…everyone needs that special thing to feed the soul. I wish you healthy hands forever. But, there is a funny Tosh.0 skit he does with a woman with no arms and they cook with their feet. It’s possible 😉

      • NTP February 28, 2013 at 4:42 am #

        I need something that’s not fattening, though…Deep sigh…

Leave a Reply

BakingMeHungry

The adventures of two sisters + food enthusiasts as they bake, cook, and eat anything, anywhere.

This Running Mom's Life

Just a mom who loves to run, (learning) to practice yoga, maintain weight loss and parent. All One Mile at a Time.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

runmommarunnews.wordpress.com/

Celebrate and Support Women Who Run!

Mileage Mama

Musings on running, travel, and motherhood ...

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Haute Running Mama

Pray.Love.Laugh.Run.

lexbake

a love of baking

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

howtostayfitwhenyoufeellikeshit

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

