To Grill or Not to Grill

22 Feb

My spoiling days are over.  Great big SIGH.  I am now thinking of dinner prep, actually grocery shopping and cooking and…arg…cleaning.  We were spoiled for over four weeks.  Wow, that part of Peg Leg-dom sure flew by.  It was very, very relaxing.  I had almost forgotten how much time and energy us mamas (and some papas) spend each day planning meals, prepping meals, buying food, cooking food, cleaning up after cooking food… and then all the snacks and desserts.  I don’t mind it, honestly.  I am just really out of practice and I thoroughly enjoyed having others do the work for me (Thank you, dear friends!!!)

Tonight I made chicken kebobs (recipe thanks to one of those dear friends who brought dinner), roasted red potatoes and salad.  I was kind of excited to do a full dinner for my sweet brood. Princelightningbolt arrives home starving around 530 after running practice, Princessenpointe is home for only 45 minutes between dance classes at 615 and Sirskatesalot wanders in sometime after that.  I have to coordinate creatively to make sure everyone has some sort of warm or ready to be heated up meal.

Last spring, Sirskatesalot got rid of our outdoor gas grill and decided he was going old school and bought a charcoal grill.  I don’t understand this at all.  What is cool about having to wait 20 minutes for the heat to be ready and then watching as half your dinner burns and half is undercooked?  This vintagey grilling idea is lost on me.

Once I marinate the meat and slice the veggies I start to think that firing up the coals is a bad, time consuming idea.  I google how to cook kebobs in the oven, but that seems lame.  How do you enjoy a kebob without the grill marks?

And this is where I come to my confession.  Yes, this is embarrassing.  I dug out my George Foreman Grill. I swear I have only used it three times.  Even more embarrassing …I bought it with a Groupon.  I know, you now think my kitchen is stocked with Spaghettios, canned soup and green containers of parmesan cheese.  These assumptions are far from the truth.  But that George Foreman Grill is now going to be a staple instead of a dust collector in the back of the pan cupboard.

George is onto something.  Our kebobs looked like they were grilled out of doors by The Marlboro Man…The Marlboro Man with a microbrew not a cigarette.  Gorgeous, delicious and I was in the warmth of my kitchen the entire time.  I won’t complain about how tiny it is, nor how long the ordeal took because I made a gazillion kebobs.  Beggars can’t be choosers and when you buy a George Foreman Grill with a Groupon, you definitely qualify as a beggar…or at least a cheapskate.

6 Responses to “To Grill or Not to Grill”

  1. Nora February 22, 2013 at 5:33 am #

    I never did understand why he chose the charcoal grill over the gas. Silly boy. Glad you’re up and mobile but don’t overdo it kid.

  2. NTP February 22, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    Seems to me I had and subsequently gave away my George Foreman grill 15 years ago. My parents had one and kindly bought one for me thinking I’d fall in love with this little countertop appliance. I remember “grilling” hamburgers on it and was none too pleased with the grease cleanup that ensued. I didn’t know these were still around and that they could be purchased with of all things, a groupon. Next time please include recipes and a photo of this indoor grilling festa. I miss my George Foreman grill, no that’s not true, I lie.

    • bossybostwick February 22, 2013 at 6:17 am #

      You must have been one of the first on the block with the George Foreman Grill. Kind of like the only kid on the block with a color TV in the late 60s…only you probably weren’t inviting your peers over for a few hours to check out your cool grill. The G.F. grill came out in 1994 fyi. I am always on the down slope of the bell curve. You should know this by now. And…if you calculate in the fact that there was no flesh to be cooked in this house until Princelighningbolt was in 5th grade, we should be allotted an extra decade to get up to speed on carnivorous contraptions. Now that you know how amazing kebobs can be without a Marlboro Man and without going out in the dark and cold, I am certain that you are jealous. It’s OK, I’m used to it. Do you want me to look for a Groupon for you for another G.F. Grill? It’s never too late.

  3. bossybostwick February 22, 2013 at 6:08 am #

    Yes, Nora, you raised a silly boy! At least Sirskatesalot gives me fodder for blog posts…and he is damn cute. I am not overdoing it, but I feel liberated in a big,big way and I am not even running yet. Perspective is powerful.

  4. dawndeshefy@gmail.com February 22, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    Share the recipe! Get a gas grill too. That gas one is a he man thing. We has both for years -lol. Can’t respond on blog properly til later cause I am off to work for 3 days yippee! Driving each day. Miss your chess time – come over, Matt needs it.

    Glad you are doing well.

    Xo, Dawn

    Sent from my iPhone

    • bossybostwick February 23, 2013 at 5:45 am #

      1/4 c. olive oil
      1/3 c. honey
      1/3 c. olive oil
      2 crushed garlic cloves
      salt and pepper to taste

      marinate 6-8 chick breasts chunked in 2-3 inch squares in prepared marinade for minimum of 2 hours
      Chunk up desired vegetables: onion,zucchini, bell peppers
      Rinse mushroom, cherry tomatoes and pineapple chunks
      Soak bamboo skewers in water for 2 -24 hrs.

      Skewer chicken chunks alternating with veggies/pineapple

      Bake 12 min in oven 400 degrees, spooning left over marinade over skewers halfway through baking or 5-7 min. on grill, turning half way through.

      Serve with rice or roasted potatoes and salad.

      Dessert PB/chcoco chip cookies. I can leave that recipe,too.

Leave a Reply

BakingMeHungry

The adventures of two sisters + food enthusiasts as they bake, cook, and eat anything, anywhere.

This Running Mom's Life

Just a mom who loves to run, (learning) to practice yoga, maintain weight loss and parent. All One Mile at a Time.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

runmommarunnews.wordpress.com/

Celebrate and Support Women Who Run!

Mileage Mama

Musings on running, travel, and motherhood ...

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Haute Running Mama

Pray.Love.Laugh.Run.

lexbake

a love of baking

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

howtostayfitwhenyoufeellikeshit

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

