Settle the Unsettled

21 Feb

What is going on?  There was an asteroid close to earth, a meteor buzzed by Russia and made such a racket that people were injured and glass was shattered, there have been two deadly shooting rampages down here in So Cal and an Olympic athlete is accused of murder.  The world and my area of that world feel quite unsettled.  I don’t like that feeling.

Feeling settled is comfortable.  It takes effort to get to that feeling of calm, collected, “I know where things are, who is going to be there and where I fit in.”  The obvious example of this sensation settles into your bones a few months after a big move.  Your home starts to feel like a home and your routine starts to seem normal and comfortable.

I have been unsettled since my routine has changed with my surgery.  Not only has my running completely dissipated, but my relationships that come with running have changed.  My relationships in my house have changed..for the better?  The teens are much  more willing to help, Sirskatesalot is more protective and more helpful (Remember “Bubbles”?), my friends are caretakers of me.  Unsettled.

The randomness of the recent events in the atmosphere and down here in So Cal call into question that feeling of comfort and the need for vigilance.  But, I don’t think anything can prepare you for the random.  It’s too scary for me to think of all the ways to be more ready for things I have no control over.  So, whether it be a psycho running amok, a meteor boom or the concept that I may never run like I used to, I am not preparing, I am living this life now, for today, in whatever muddled state I can, enjoying those friends and family and the physical activities I can do (I am actually able to enjoy some of my swim time now…mind over matter).

These unsettled times seem ripe for some wisdom from Dr. Suess,  “If things start happening, don’t worry, don’t stew, just go right along and you’ll start happening too.”

2 Responses to “Settle the Unsettled”

  1. NTP February 21, 2013 at 5:14 am #

    I adore Theodore Geissel, well put. Live in the moment- don’t sweat the small stuff. I was reading my beloved spice catalogue with recipes and stories. An older lady wrote, “They don’t remember if the house was clean…they remember the foods.” Thanks Ellie Depew for the wisdom to remind me that my OCD can get in the way of being present in the moment. I resolve to put family over inanimate objects…I will keep you posted…I love them more, obviously, but I feel unwell when chores are left undone,

  2. bossybostwick February 21, 2013 at 5:36 am #

    Me, too! Chaos is great, but I like a clean, orderly house before the chaos ensues. Easier for me to embrace the unknown and craziness now that I see how fast the years fly. Mine will be gone before I can say, “supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” and fun, ridiculous memories are so much more enjoyable to make than clean, orderly ones.

Leave a Reply

BakingMeHungry

The adventures of two sisters + food enthusiasts as they bake, cook, and eat anything, anywhere.

This Running Mom's Life

Just a mom who loves to run, (learning) to practice yoga, maintain weight loss and parent. All One Mile at a Time.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

runmommarunnews.wordpress.com/

Celebrate and Support Women Who Run!

Mileage Mama

Musings on running, travel, and motherhood ...

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Haute Running Mama

Pray.Love.Laugh.Run.

lexbake

a love of baking

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

howtostayfitwhenyoufeellikeshit

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

