Mix Tape

15 Feb

Remember making mix tapes for your friends?  Spending hours over the double cassette player, trying to hit the pause button at just the right time?  Getting soooo flustered when one of the tapes would get caught, unravel and you’d lose all your hard work?  I would sit on my bedroom floor with piles of tapes trying to make just the perfect mix for a friend who had a birthday, did something special or had broken up with a boyfriend.

And then, there is the boyfriend mix tape.  Remember those?  A sign that things had moved closer to serious, but not serious enough to discuss this movement.  You had enough memories together to compile about a dozen songs, but not enough to fill up an entire 90 minute tape. Making sure to alternate the slow songs with the fast songs and always beginning and ending with the best, you cranked out a beautiful mix tap.  If you felt like this was going somewhere, you also decorated the tape (remember the white sticky label you adhered to each side?) and the case.  The best compliment a teenage girl could here was, “I really liked the tape you made me.”  Ahhhh.

This Valentine’s Day I made a mix CD for my sweetheart.  Sirskatesalot has everything he could possibly want, so I was at a loss for gift ideas.  Pressured by Mscooksalot to come up with something (because she is a romantic. She decorates the house for Valentine’s Day AND spoils the whole family with presents and lobster dinner…Why am I friends with her again?), I decided to spend all my sitting minutes…yes, ALL my sitting minutes…it takes a long time to download all the CDs and to decorate a CD case… yesterday making a love themed CD.  There are some good memories, some poignant ones and lots of smiles in the songs I chose.  We will have been together for a whopping 24 years next month.  We have tons of memories together now.  By the time I make the next mix CD, I will need two CDs to fit all the fun and memories.  I’m looking forward to another 24 years (Yes, we were teens when we met; We are still young).  Check it out:

Need You Tonight   INXS

Somebody to Love  Queen

Beast of Burden  The Rolling Stones

Let Me Put My Love Into You  AC DC

Don’t You (Forget About Me)  Simple Minds

Light My Fire  The Doors

Modern Love  David Bowie

You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You  Dean Martin

Let’s Pretend We’re Married  Prince

Tears of a Clown  The English Beat

At My Most Beautiful  R.E.M.

Lover’s Rock   The Clash

Take On Me  a-ha

Prince Charming  Adam & the Ants

Hold On  Tom Waits

Do You Love Me Now?  The Breeders

11 Responses to “Mix Tape”

  1. NTP February 15, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    Thank you for the shout out, I think. I like most of the songs on your list but ACDC has to go, just sayin. You made me do my math. In May Jota and I will going on 25 years of music memories. I was doing the math on you and sirskatesalot figuring you must’ve met in middle school.I’m noticing A-Ha on the list. I guarantee they will be on the Coach House’s 80s band circuit sometime soon.

    • bossybostwick February 15, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

      W
      What do you have against Angus Young,NTP? AC DC stays. I was a freshman and Sirskatesalot had already graduated. Gimme your Valentine playlist…

      • NTP February 16, 2013 at 1:34 am #

        Terence Trent Darby: Sign Your Name Across My Heart

        REM: Me In Honey

        Cecilio and Kapono: Sunflower

        David Bowie: Heroes

        Thompson Twins: Hold Me Now

        Psychedelic Furs: Love My Way

        The Cult: Sanctuary

        Eddie Vedder: Hard Sun

        The Violent Femmes: Blister In the Sun

        B-52s: Love Shack

        Pretenders: Message of Love

        Social Distortion: A Place in My Heart

        Joe Jackson: One More Time

        Michael Franks: Eggplant

        Led Zeppelin: All of My Love

        Jack Johnson: Better Together

        Guns and Roses: Sweet Child of Mine

        Okay, here it is…way too much work because Jota got involved. You can probably tell which are my picks and which are his. Jota had to keep going onto itunes to vet his songs or my picks to see if he agreed. Hope you like it. Can’t wait to hear who you vote off. Jota was not into Thompson Twins or Psychedelic Furs but I loved them so too bad.

  2. bossybostwick February 16, 2013 at 2:42 am #

    Decent attempt ;). I vote no joe Jackson or thompson twins. Damn I had B52s Love Shack on my list and forgot to include it! Poor Sirskatesalot. Oh, and Jack Johnson shouldn’t count. It’s too recent. Next time. I teamwork.

  3. NTP February 16, 2013 at 3:06 am #

    Jota picked Joe Jackson and obviously TT was mine. My cousin and I would act out music videos for the TT on the unspoiled wilderness of Lanai Hawaii the summer of my sophomore year going into junior year. We loved them but I confess I was soooo disappointed when I heard how horrible they were on SNL when they attempted to sing live, but damm the new ro lead singer was hot. You were prob in 6th grade so you wouldn’t know! So what is your fav song on my kist Heroes or Me in Honey??? Or none of the above?

  4. bossybostwick February 16, 2013 at 3:15 am #

    Me in Honey and Blister in the Sun both rock. Dont be be so threatened by my youth. I am a cripple, remember?

    • NTP February 16, 2013 at 4:22 am #

      We know young one, you have a placard to prove it. BTW where is D2 and Trish and Eves V day play list. If they have an hour or two to spare I’m waiting. If they need a cheating partner they can email me. Ms cheater pants is willing to come up w some bitchin songs. What about the GoGos Vacation. How sexy is that?

      • bossybostwick February 17, 2013 at 2:18 am #

        Ya, like NTP said, where are my follower friends’ mix tape lists? Come on pals, stimulate me.

  5. NTP February 16, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

    You kept me up in the middle of the night reflecting on refining my picks. Take off Thompson Twins and replace it with Peter Gabriel: In Your Eyes. Don’t you dare criticize that song. That was an important tape in my life.

  6. bossybostwick February 17, 2013 at 2:14 am #

    Love that song. Peter Gabriel’s only great one. And the image of John Cusack with the ghetto blaster raised above his head makes me smile. How about OMD “If You Leave” and “I Want You to Want Me” by Cheap Trick and “Somebody” by Depeche Mode? I have lots more up my sleeve…saving some for the next mix tape. Did you make one for Jota yet?

  7. NTP February 17, 2013 at 3:12 am #

    No, we are stealing your idea and going to make one and make this a V Day tradition because now you’ve got me thinking of hundreds of others I/we like.

Leave a Reply

BakingMeHungry

The adventures of two sisters + food enthusiasts as they bake, cook, and eat anything, anywhere.

This Running Mom's Life

Just a mom who loves to run, (learning) to practice yoga, maintain weight loss and parent. All One Mile at a Time.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

runmommarunnews.wordpress.com/

Celebrate and Support Women Who Run!

Mileage Mama

Musings on running, travel, and motherhood ...

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Haute Running Mama

Pray.Love.Laugh.Run.

lexbake

a love of baking

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

howtostayfitwhenyoufeellikeshit

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

