Peg Leg Perspective

3 Feb

Being a Peg Leg stinks.  I will admit, there have been minutes, days, these past few weeks when I am feeling a bit down, bummed…ahem, sorry for myself.  However, I had perspective drilled into me as a child and I remind myself many times a day in the whole scheme of things, this whole Peg Leg experience is not a big deal.  I had many, many eye surgeries as a child and most of them required extended hospital stays at California Pacific Medical Center.  When I was little, pediatrics was combined with pediatric oncology.  You can imagine what the kids were going through.  We shared tutors, a play room and nurses.  We knew the details of each other’s medical issues.  My mom was a nurse.  She made it clear that there would be no pity party for me.  I would live.  Period.  “Do you know what these kids would give to just have an eye surgery?”  I got it.  Even at age nine, I got it.

We all get doses of perspective in life.  The clear vision we see during these times, the appreciation, the acceptance, and the honor we give to life is amazing.  It is something to be celebrated.  Yet, life gets busy, we get better, we forget.

My Peg Leg has helped me remember.  A friend’s son recently had a bad accident.  His cast is WAY bigger than my boot and he is a child.  He cannot have the perspective from years of life. This sucks more for him than for me.  We put our legs up, we play chess.  He laughs.  He does not complain.  I admire him, his strength, his ability to just deal with what has been handed to him and to try to make the most fun with what he has.  A cast from heel to groin at age 13 does not sound fun.  He does not complain.  He smiles, he laughs, he will live.  He will be OK and he knows it.

I get it now, too.  I won’t deny that I am bummed.  I miss running more than I can explain and I miss being totally independent and in charge (which in my house means being mobile 100% of the time).  However, I get it.  I know this is temporary.  I know I will be OK.  I know my pity party is trivial.  Tales of a Temporary Peg Leg are just that.

2 Responses to “Peg Leg Perspective”

  1. NTP February 3, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    Well, spoken. Beautiful perspective.

Leave a Reply

BakingMeHungry

The adventures of two sisters + food enthusiasts as they bake, cook, and eat anything, anywhere.

This Running Mom's Life

Just a mom who loves to run, (learning) to practice yoga, maintain weight loss and parent. All One Mile at a Time.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

runmommarunnews.wordpress.com/

Celebrate and Support Women Who Run!

Mileage Mama

Musings on running, travel, and motherhood ...

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Haute Running Mama

Pray.Love.Laugh.Run.

lexbake

a love of baking

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

howtostayfitwhenyoufeellikeshit

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

