Nuisance

30 Jan

“A friend in need is a fucking nuisance!”  I stumbled upon this quote today and realized I am a fucking nuisance.  Clarity is painful.  My friends are amazing.  They call, they come hang out with me while I sit on the couch, they bring my entire family delicious meals, grocery shop for me (even big Costco trips!).  One friend’s daughter is even walking our pooches (one of whom weighs in at 110 pounds).

When my friends are in need, I try to help.  I want to help.  I think life can be very trying and difficult at times and no girlfriend should have to deal with it all by herself.  That being said, I was quite reluctant to allow all this love and care for me while I am Peg Leg Jenn.  It feels kind of uncomfortable at first to have people going out of their way and fussing over me.

However, now that we are nearing week two of dinners, dog walking and spoiling with treats, I think I am kind of settling into my roll as a fucking nuisance.  I am not feeling quite as guilty about all the attention and the hard work my friends are putting into making extra meals and delivering them.  My kids have started asking not, “What’s for dinner?” but, “Who is bringing dinner?”  We have been spoiled with homemade soups, calzones, chili and even “Knock You Naked” brownies.  I did not make up the name, but they really are that good.  You should see my naked family…

I am one lucky fucking nuisance to have such caring friends and I am surprised by how easy it has been for me to settle into the role of taker.  Getting lazier by the day and caring less about lots of busy, trivial stuff too.  A silver lining?  Ask my exhausted friends.

11 Responses to “Nuisance”

  1. NTP January 30, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    It is a pleasure to serve you Ms. Bossy. You deserve to be knocked naked more often:)

  2. jenmaaninamman February 2, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    NTP is a slacker. If I was nearby, I would bake you even better food AND bring you wine!

  3. bossybostwick February 2, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

    Better food? When you come to visit NTP, I will gladly have you two compete over feeding me…but NTP did bring wine…great minds think alike.

  4. NTP February 3, 2013 at 12:38 am #

    That is probably true but Jen Maan doesn’t have children and BTW, I did bring wine. Jen Maan would bring you food but she wouldn’t allow herself to eat it. She’s bring you wine, but she wouldn’t allow herself to drink it. She’s very disciplined in a sick way, like too many people I know. Makes me want to have a second helping or another glass. Oh but let me quote Jen Maan, “Nothing tastes as good as thin feels.” Sometimes I beg to differ.

  5. jenmaaninamman February 3, 2013 at 2:27 am #

    Yes the food would be better and the wine would be sparkling AND I’d make it ALL so stinkin’ cute that Nicole would say mean things about me like she did above. FYI, I practice ‘intuitive eating’ so I can eat and drink WHATEVER I like on Sunday through Thursday so if I plan on imbibing with you, we’re limited to Friday or Saturday.

    • bossybostwick February 6, 2013 at 4:36 am #

      Aha, imbibing only on Friday and Saturday. Don’t you get bored?

      • jenmaaninamman February 10, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

        All I do is run, work, eat, sleep, repeat…until Friday.

      • bossybostwick February 12, 2013 at 6:19 am #

        All I do now is sit, swim, eat, drink and then do all but the swim on Friday…keep running for me.

  6. NTP February 3, 2013 at 3:20 am #

    Boring!!!!

  7. NTP February 6, 2013 at 4:57 am #

    Seriously…life’s too short.

  8. bossybostwick February 6, 2013 at 6:03 am #

    Longer when you don’t imbibe as much…blech

Leave a Reply

BakingMeHungry

The adventures of two sisters + food enthusiasts as they bake, cook, and eat anything, anywhere.

This Running Mom's Life

Just a mom who loves to run, (learning) to practice yoga, maintain weight loss and parent. All One Mile at a Time.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

runmommarunnews.wordpress.com/

Celebrate and Support Women Who Run!

Mileage Mama

Musings on running, travel, and motherhood ...

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Haute Running Mama

Pray.Love.Laugh.Run.

lexbake

a love of baking

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

howtostayfitwhenyoufeellikeshit

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

